“Psalms for a New Generation”

While planning for our fall road trip, I intended to attend the meeting of Classis Eastern U. S., visit some colleges, worship with one of our sister congregations in Indiana, and spend a day at Mid-America Reformed Seminary.  I didn’t expect to lead a Sunday school presentation.  But that’s exactly what Jim Oord invited me to do.

The kind saints at Community United Reformed Church in Schererville, IN, allowed me to give a presentation on “Psalms for a New Generation,” in which I endeavored to guide them through the history and principles of psalm-singing and provide some practical advice for revitalizing it in the coming generations.

Now, along with the psalmody discussion Jim and I published last week, you can watch the video of this class on YouTube.  This was certainly a first for me, so forgive my faltering tongue.  I’ve also uploaded the “Study Guide” or whatever you’d like to call it as a PDF.  As I said in the notes, “Through this class I merely hope to share my own love and ever-deepening appreciation for the psalms, the songs of God’s people throughout the ages.”  Enjoy, and please share!

–MRK

(Try this link if the embedded video doesn’t work.)

0 Responses to ““Psalms for a New Generation””



  1. Leave a Comment

Share Your Thoughts

Welcome to URC Psalmody

We hope you'll join us as we discuss music, worship, the psalms, the church, and much more here on URC Psalmody. You can learn about the purpose of this blog here. We look forward to to seeing you in the discussions!

With this feature, just enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts on URC Psalmody by email!

Join 208 other followers

Categories


