Back to Regular Programming

Who would think so much could happen in a single semester?

Having just returned last Friday from my first four months of study at Geneva College, I’m finally able to catch my breath and reflect a little bit on the whirlwind that was this semester.  URC Psalmody’s silence over the last few months should be proof enough that it’s been an unprecedentedly busy period of my life.

My introductory studies in civil engineering, by themselves, were not unmanageable.  However, despite my best efforts, I was unable to put music on the back burner.  As a result, I have become heavily involved in Geneva’s music department, partly in accompanying the lessons and performances of vocal students on the piano, and partly in joining the school choir, the Genevans.  Related to these obligations are preparations for the choir’s upcoming tour to the Philippines—but more on that in a future post, Lord willing.

Besides showing me that I can’t get away from music, this first semester also convinced me against pursuing an engineering career.  Although I am still earnestly trying to discern God’s direction for my life, I am taking small steps towards an eventual track into the ministry.  The first big step has been switching to a communications major with a concentration in public relations, into which I’ll also throw a music minor.

That’s a very basic overview of some of the most significant events of this semester, during those long stretches when URC Psalmody hasn’t been kept up-to-date.  Over Christmas break my goal is to finish up our series on the Heidelberg Catechism, now terribly out of sequence, and wrap up a few other loose ends.  Since I expect a slightly lighter workload next semester, I hope to be able to maintain a more regular presence on the blog in 2014.  Just as with everything else, though, I’m learning to take things one step at a time.  For now, I look forward to delving again into the riches of the Heidelberg Catechism and connecting its teaching to our singing from the Psalter Hymnal.

God’s blessings be with you during this holiday season.

–MRK

Winter at Geneva College

2 Responses to “Back to Regular Programming”


  1. 1 Pamela December 19, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    It’s been fun following you, via FB, through this first semester of college, Michael! It brings back so many memories for me — my years at Dordt were some of the best (and most fun!) of my life! Many blessings to you, and Merry Christmas.


Share Your Thoughts

Welcome to URC Psalmody

We hope you'll join us as we discuss music, worship, the psalms, the church, and much more here on URC Psalmody. You can learn about the purpose of this blog here. We look forward to to seeing you in the discussions!

With this feature, just enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts on URC Psalmody by email!

Join 208 other followers

Categories


